Sunday, May 29th – 5th Sunday after Easter

West Tokyo Union Church

Sunday, May 29, 2011 – 5th Sunday after Easter

Sunday School

ES Age 4 – Gr 2 – Meets during church after the children’s sermon. This will be our last class until September.  Contact Lynn Loveman (lloveman@asij.ac.jp) or Amy Harbaugh (aharbaugh@asij.ac.jp) for more information.

ES Gr 3 – 5:  Meets at 9:30 in the cafeteria. Contact Kristi Hoskins (khoskins@asij.ac.jp) or Julie Rogers (jrogers@asij.ac.jp), Sunday School coordinators if you need more details or wish to help.

MS:  Meets at 9:45 in the cafeteria. Contact Ruth Ingulsrud (ruth@thirdculture.com) or Pastor Claudia (RevClaudia@aol.com) for more information.

Adult Intro to Bible Study:  Meets upstairs at 9:45.

Worship: 10:55

Special Music :  Carol Sack

Scripture:  Luke 18:16

Sermon:  “Conversion Through Engagement” – Charles McJilton

Commission of new LEMS: Malcom Foster, Joel Ingulsrud

Fellowship hour:  Hosted by Rev. Dr. Jonathan and Juli Blanke in honor of Sarah’s high school graduation.

Service to our congregation and community

Charles McJilton, the Director of Second Harvest Japan, is our guest preacher this week. You can find information on Second Harvest and their disaster relief work at their website:

http://www.2hj.org/index.php/eng_home

WTUC supports Second Harvest Japan where WTUC member, Ruby Sakuma, works as the Food Pantry Coordinator. Second Harvest Japan welcomes volunteers on Fridays and Saturdays to help with the preparation and distribution of food to the homeless.  Those who are interested may see Ruby or go to the Second Harvest Japan website (2hj.org) to sign up.

Music at WTUC:  If you have favorite songs that you would like to sing, please send Carrie Bennett your requests.  bennettinkuwait@hotmail.com

Carrie is going to help coordinate music at WTUC.  Anyone interested in committing their vocal and musical talents TWICE a month email or see Carrie.

Interested in being a liturgist? Contact Betsy Terada.

Interested in joining the prayer chain? See Pastor Claudia or Kayo Ozawa, prayer chain coordinator.

Interested in becoming a Lay Eucharistic Minister? Contact Pastor Claudia.

Other

 Prayer requests – send to Pastor Claudia or Prayer Chain Coordinator Kayo Ozawa; kayo@ta2.so-net.ne.jp

 Website – www.wtuc.net

Church contacts:

Pastor:  Rev. Claudia Genung-Yamamoto; RevClaudia@aol.com

Steering Committee chairperson: Karen Seevers; kseevers@asij.ac.jp

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.