Sunday, March 6th – Transfiguration Sunday

West Tokyo Union Church

Sunday, March 6, 2011 – Transfiguration Sunday

Sunday School

ES Age 4 – Gr 2:  Meets at 9:30 in the cafeteria. Contact Lynn Loveman (lloveman@asij.ac.jp) or Amy Harbaugh (aharbaugh@asij.ac.jp) for more information.

ES Gr 3 – 5:  Meets during church in the cafeteria. Contact Kristi Hoskins (khoskins@asij.ac.jp) or Julie Rogers (jrogers@asij.ac.jp), Sunday School  coordinators if you need more details or wish to help.

MS:  Meets at 9:40 in the cafeteria.

Adult Intro to Bible Study:  Meets upstairs at 9:40 a.m.  Email Dr. Toshi Sasao (tsasao1@gmail.com) for more information. Child care provided upon request, but please contact Toshi Sasao the night before. 

Worship:  10:55

Praise Puppets:  MS youth

Old Testament Reading:  Exodus 24 : 12-18

Psalm 99

Gospel Reading:  Matthew 17 : 1-9

Sermon:  “Love Transfigures Us” –  Pastor Claudia

Upcoming Calendar – Dates to Remember

Next week is the beginning of Lent.

March 9th – Ash Wednesday; Lentil soup supper with bread and fruit at 5:10 p.m. Service at 6:00 p.m. Service will be held at Malcolm and Mio Foster’s  home.   Join us for a simple supper of lentil soup and bread. The Fosters live near ASIJ.  See Malcolm, Mio or the Pastor for directions. Foster’s telephone #: 042-319-1667

April 17th – Palm Sunday; Children process in with palms. Guest preacher will be Rev. Dr. Afrie Joye , UMC professor and pastor from  Union Seminary in the Philippines.

April 22nd – Good Friday service, 7:30 p.m. Location to be announced later.

April 24th – Easter; Easter Potluck Brunch and Egg Hunt at 9:30 a.m. Church worship at 10:55 a.m.

If you would like offering envelopes, please contact Mark Hisamatsu.

Service to our congregation and community

Church Directory – Updated published directory is now available. Please get a copy from Toshi Sasao.

WTUC supports Second Harvest Japan where WTUC member, Ruby Sakuma, works as the Food Pantry Coordinator. Second Harvest Japan welcomes volunteers on Fridays and Saturdays to help with the preparation and distribution of food to the homeless.  Those who are interested may see Ruby  or go to the Second Harvest Japan website (2hj.org) to sign up.

Music at WTUC:  If you have favorite songs that you would like to sing, please send Carrie Bennett your requests.  bennettinkuwait@hotmail.com

Carrie is going to help coordinate music at WTUC.  Anyone interested in committing their vocal and musical talents TWICE a month email or see Carrie.

Interested in being a liturgist? Contact Betsy Terada.

Interested in joining the prayer chain? See Pastor Claudia or Kayo Ozawa, prayer chain coordinator.

Interested in becoming a Lay Eucharistic Minister? Contact Pastor Claudia.

Other

 Prayer requests – send to Pastor Claudia or Prayer Chain Coordinator Kayo Ozawa (kayo@ta2.so-net.ne.jp)

 Website – www.wtuc.net

Church contacts:

Pastor:  Rev. Claudia Genung-Yamamoto; RevClaudia@aol.com

Steering Committee chairperson: Karen Seevers; kseevers@asij.ac.jp

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.